This Life feels Just Right

Most of our lives we resemble Dug from the Pixar film ‘UP’. Wildly veering from place to place on “our very special mission.”–SQUIRREL!

dug

It’s easy to train ourselves into thinking that when we get married, turn 30, move to Arizona, finish school or ____________, then we’ll finally have our sh!t together. I’m pretty sure that I’m not the first to tell you, but it’s all a ruse. This is the life we’re given, and it’s shorter than we can imagine.

At the risk of sounding like an oldster, time does indeed speed up, but I try not to bemoan that fact and just embrace the current moment, speed of time, age of my children and any other characteristic of my wonderful life that feels elusive.

IMG_0026.PNG

I’ve been practicing yoga to some degree for about 6 years. I’m still squarely in the beginner camp, but feel like I’ve been transformed in many ways, one of which is learning to live here, in this present moment, rather than fill myself with longing for the past, the future or something other.

You can wish in one hand and sh!t in the other. Then, you can see which fills up first. -My Grandma Williams

Life is what happens to us while we are making other plans. -Allen Saunders

This porridge is just right. -Goldilocks

goldilocks

So, regarding today’s prompt, I think I decide to opt out. I won’t waste any wishing on speeding up or slowing down time. This life feels just right.
Pace Oddity

2 thoughts on “This Life feels Just Right

  1. Haha I loved this: “Most of our lives we resemble Dug from the Pixar film ‘UP’. Wildly veering from place to place on “our very special mission.”–SQUIRREL!”

    And I loved that you opted out of this post…couldn’t agree with you more on this post. Though I myself wrote a response 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

